Devotionals

When the pandemic first came to our corner of the globe in March of last year, it brought all sorts of changes upon our church-just as it did everywhere else. We first began doing devotionals each weekday as a way for people to stay connected to the community of the church amidst the sudden termination of in-person worship leading up to the season of Easter. As time went on, however, the became a part of the ongoing fabric of DUPC during the strange and difficult season of COVID-19. Join Pastor Deborah, Pastor Boone, and others as they spend time talking about God and God’s word for all of us.

September 2021

Praying the First Three Beads: Sovereignty, Bumps, & Silence

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Wednesday, September 22, 2021

Last Words — A School shooting; September 21, 2021; Psalm 19:14

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Tuesday, September 21, 2021

“Come to Terms Quickly” Matthew 5:21-26, September 20, 2021

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Monday, September 20, 2021

Ice Cream! – Finding Simplicity – September 16, 2021

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Thursday, September 16, 2021

On Location @ Fort Monroe – September 15, 2021

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Wednesday, September 15, 2021

Being Prayerful at the Edges of Life – September 14, 2021

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Tuesday, September 14, 2021

Pray Without Ceasing, 1 Thessalonians 5:12-22, September 13, 2021

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Monday, September 13, 2021

What’s Your Pedigree? Philippians 3:4b-14, September 10, 2021

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Friday, September 10, 2021

God Is at Work in Us— Philippians 2:12-15. September 9, 2021

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Thursday, September 9, 2021

“Less of Me, More of You” Philippians 2:1-11

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Wednesday, September 8, 2021

Longing for God, Psalm 42; September 7, 2021

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Tuesday, September 7, 2021

Rowing the Distance – September 3, 2021

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Friday, September 3, 2021

“Don’t Lose Heart” 2 Corinthians 4:16-18; 5:6-9 — September 2, 2021

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Thursday, September 2, 2021

August 2021

The Old “Back In My Day” Speech – August 31, 2021

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Tuesday, August 31, 2021

A Time to Build Up, a Time to Tear Down – August 30, 2021

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Monday, August 30, 2021

What Would You Ask For? – Friday, August 27, 2021

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Friday, August 27, 2021

August 26, 2021; “Shoes”, Ephesians 6:15

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Thursday, August 26, 2021

August 26, 2021; “Shoes”, Ephesians 6:15

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Thursday, August 26, 2021

Sermon Follow-Up re Truth, Science, and Canon Formation

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Wednesday, August 25, 2021

August 23, 2021. The Sword of the Spirit, Ephesians 6:10-17

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Monday, August 23, 2021

August 19, 2021 “Are You Weary?” Matthew 11:28-30

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Thursday, August 19, 2021

Finding the Right Tool – August 18, 2021 Devotional

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Wednesday, August 18, 2021

August 17, 2021 “I Can Do All Things Through Christ Who Strengthens Me” Philippians 4:4-13

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Tuesday, August 17, 2021

August 16, 2021 “Are Our Batteries Running Low?” Psalm 27:1, Matthew 5:14; Philippians 2:14-15

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Monday, August 16, 2021

Wrapping Up Genesis with the Big Picture – August 13, 2021 Devotional

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Friday, August 13, 2021

August 12, 2021 — Psalm 46 and Acts 27:21-26 “In the Storm”

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Thursday, August 12, 2021

Joseph Embraces Two Identities – August 11, 2021 Devotional

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Wednesday, August 11, 2021

August 10, 2021 “Saul’s Conversion”

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Tuesday, August 10, 2021

Answering Pharaoh’s “What Do You Do?” – Genesis 46 & 47

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Monday, August 9, 2021

August 4, 2021 “Sojourners” Genesis 47:7-12

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Wednesday, August 4, 2021

August 3, 2021 “Here I Am”, Genesis 46:1-5a, 26-30

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Tuesday, August 3, 2021

August 2, 2021 “Don’t Quarrel on the Way.” Genesis 45:16-28

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Monday, August 2, 2021

July 2021

Guest Speaker: Bill McCullough Genesis 44:1-17 Thursday, July 29, 2021

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Thursday, July 29, 2021

Dilemmas – Genesis 43, July 28, 2021

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Wednesday, July 28, 2021

Love Your Enemies? Genesis 42:26-38, Tuesday, July 27, 2021 Devotional

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Tuesday, July 27, 2021

July 26,2021 Reckoning—Genesis 42

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Monday, July 26, 2021

Dreaming in Genesis 39 & 40 – July 23, 2021 Devotional

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Friday, July 23, 2021

Joseph in Potiphar’s House – July 22, 2021 Devotional w/ a special song from Hazel

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Thursday, July 22, 2021

July21 Devotion Doing the Right Thing

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Wednesday, July 21, 2021

Regrets — Devotional for July 20, 2021

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Tuesday, July 20, 2021

Devotional — Grief and the Death of Dreams; July 19, 2021

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Monday, July 19, 2021

The Exciting World of Genesis 36! – July 16, 2021 Car Devotional

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Friday, July 16, 2021

Guest Speaker: Jay Dunn Thursday, July 15, 2021 Devotional

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Thursday, July 15, 2021

Struggling and Striving with Genesis 34 – July 14, 2021 Devotional

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Wednesday, July 14, 2021
Guest devotionalist, Jay Dunn – July 13, 2021

Guest Speaker: Jay Dunn Tuesday, July 13, 2021 Devotional

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Tuesday, July 13, 2021

(Re)Considering Adam and Eve – July 8, 2021 Devotional

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Thursday, July 8, 2021

Car Devotional on Genesis 33 – July 7, 2021

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Wednesday, July 7, 2021

Finding God in Unexpected Places – Genesis 28 July 2, 2021 Devotional

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Friday, July 2, 2021

Anger — Genesis 27:41-45

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Thursday, July 1, 2021

June 2021

Genesis 25:19-27 Precarious Faith

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Monday, June 28, 2021

Important Filler w/ Genesis 23 – June 23, 2021 Devotional

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Wednesday, June 23, 2021

Sermon Cuts from the Binding of Isaac – Tuesday, June 22, 2021 Devotional

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Tuesday, June 22, 2021

Last Day of School! Genesis 21 – June 18, 2021 Devotional

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Friday, June 18, 2021
Hagar and Sarah in Genesis 16 – Thursday, June 17, 2021 Devotional

Hagar and Sarah in Genesis 16 – Thursday, June 17, 2021 Devotional

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Thursday, June 17, 2021

June, 15, 2021, Genesis 15:1-7

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Tuesday, June 15, 2021

June 14 Devotion Genesis

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Monday, June 14, 2021

God Hangs Up the Bow Friday, June 11, 2021 Devotional

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Friday, June 11, 2021

Genesis 12:1-9 – June 10, 2021 Devotional

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Thursday, June 10, 2021

The Landscape of Genesis – Friday, June 4, 2021 Devotional

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Friday, June 4, 2021

May 2021

May 26, 2021 Luke 15:11-32

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Wednesday, May 26, 2021

May 25, 2021 Acts 2:37-47

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Tuesday, May 25, 2021
What Is God Like? Wednesday, May 19, 2021 Devotional

Filming on location with the dogs and discussing how to convey God for kids of all ages. Wednesday, May 19, 2021 Devotional

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Wednesday, May 19, 2021

May 17, 2021 “Face to Face”

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Monday, May 17, 2021

A Big Step Towards “Normal” – Friday, May 14, 2021

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Friday, May 14, 2021

Correcting & Harmonizing – May 7, 2021 Devotional

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Friday, May 7, 2021

May 6, 2021 Devotion, Romans 14:1-23

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Thursday, May 6, 2021

Calming the Storm – May 5, 2021 Devotional

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Wednesday, May 5, 2021

April 2021

Being Angry Like Jesus – Wednesday, April 28, 2021 Devotional

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Wednesday, April 28, 2021

Are the Gospels Legend? – Tuesday, April 27, 2021 Devotional

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Tuesday, April 27, 2021

On Shepherding – Monday, April 26, 2021 Devotional

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Monday, April 26, 2021

Living Together – April 21, 2021 Devotional

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Wednesday, April 21, 2021

Notes from the Sermon Floor – April 19, 2021 Devotional

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Monday, April 19, 2021

Cloth Napkins – April 16, 2021 Devotional

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Friday, April 16, 2021

C.S. Lewis on Thomas – April 15, 2021 Devotional

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Thursday, April 15, 2021

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Tuesday, April 13, 2021

The Days After Easter – April 12, 2021 Devotional

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Monday, April 12, 2021

Revelation 5:1-14

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Friday, April 9, 2021

Revelation 4:1-11

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Thursday, April 8, 2021

Revelation 3:7-13

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Tuesday, April 6, 2021

Maundy Thursday Devotion 2021

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Thursday, April 1, 2021

March 2021

Remember Me – March 31, 2021 Devotional

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Wednesday, March 31, 2021

Complicated Foreshadowing – March 30, 2021 Devotional

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Tuesday, March 30, 2021

Will You Allow Your Feet to Be Washed? – March 29, 2021 Devotional

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Monday, March 29, 2021

What Are You Looking For? – March 26, 2021 Devotional

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Friday, March 26, 2021

Feeding of the 5,000 – March 24, 2021 Devotional

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Wednesday, March 24, 2021

Portions of the Sermon on the Plain – March 19, 2021 Devotional

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Friday, March 19, 2021

Jesus Speaks in Church – March 17, 2021 Devotional

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Wednesday, March 17, 2021

“Jesus Gives Me a Job” March 12, 2021 Devotional

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Friday, March 12, 2021
Tuesday, March 9, 2021 Devotional

Colossians 3:1-4:1 Devotional

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Tuesday, March 9, 2021

Lambs and Shepherds in Psalm 23 and Blake – March 8, 2021 Devotional

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Monday, March 8, 2021

Story of the Word – March 5, 2021 Devotional

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Friday, March 5, 2021

Jesus Heals a Leper – March 3, 2021 Devotional

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Wednesday, March 3, 2021

The Power of a Voice – March 1, 2021 Devotional

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Monday, March 1, 2021

February 2021

Christians and the Death Penalty – February 26, 2021 Devotional

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Friday, February 26, 2021

Being Prodigal, Returning in Love – February 24, 2021

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Wednesday, February 24, 2021

Lenten Devotional – February 22, 2021

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Monday, February 22, 2021

Lincoln’s Second Inaugural – February 19, 2021 Devotional

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Friday, February 19, 2021

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Thursday, February 18, 2021
Remembering Lincoln in the Church

Discussing some of Abraham Lincoln’s first inaugural address.

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Tuesday, February 16, 2021

Bible or Shakespeare? February 11, 2021 Devotional

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Thursday, February 11, 2021

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Tuesday, February 9, 2021
Monday, February 1, 2021 Devotional

One License A-730573 CCLI Copyright License 2299239 CCLI Streaming License 20688317

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Monday, February 1, 2021

January 2021

Friday, January 29, 2021 Devotional

One License A-730573 CCLI Copyright License 2299239 CCLI Streaming License 20688317

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Friday, January 29, 2021

Matthew 18:1-5 – January 28, 2020

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Thursday, January 28, 2021
Wednesday, January 27, 2021 Devotional

One License A-730573 CCLI Copyright License 2299239 CCLI Streaming License 20688317

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Wednesday, January 27, 2021

Stairs and Railings – January 26, 2021 Devotional

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Tuesday, January 26, 2021
Monday, January 25, 2021 Devotional

One License A-730573 CCLI Copyright License 2299239 CCLI Streaming License 20688317

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Monday, January 25, 2021

Seeking Forgiveness by Examining Sin – Jan 22, 2021

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Friday, January 22, 2021

Giving Back to God – January 21, 2020 Devotional

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Thursday, January 21, 2021

Home Renovation – January 20, 2021 Devotional

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Wednesday, January 20, 2021

Psalm 1 – January 19, 2021 Devotional

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Tuesday, January 19, 2021

Psalms for Kids – January 15, 2021 Devotional

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Friday, January 15, 2021
Thursday, January 14, 2021 Devotional

One License A-730573 CCLI Copyright License 2299239 CCLI Streaming License 20688317

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Thursday, January 14, 2021
Wednesday, January 13, 2021 Devotional

One License A-730573 CCLI Copyright License 2299239 CCLI Streaming License 20688317

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Wednesday, January 13, 2021

A Time for Prayer – January 12, 2021

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Tuesday, January 12, 2021
Monday, January 11, 2021 Devotional

One License A-730573 CCLI Copyright License 2299239 CCLI Streaming License 20688317

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Monday, January 11, 2021

Dedications – January 8, 2021 Devotional

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Friday, January 8, 2021
Thursday, January 7, 2021, Devotional

One License A-730573 CCLI Copyright License 2299239 CCLI Streaming License 20688317

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Thursday, January 7, 2021
Wednesday, January 6, 2021, Devotional

One License A-730573 CCLI Copyright License 2299239 CCLI Streaming License 20688317

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Wednesday, January 6, 2021
Monday, January 4, 2021 Devotional

One License A-730573 CCLI Copyright License 2299239 CCLI Streaming License 20688317

Posted by Denbigh United Presbyterian Church on Monday, January 4, 2021